Group Captain Geoff Moss – Update

Sadly we have to report the loss of Group Captain Geoff Moss who died peacefully on 24th December 2011. Geoff was an enthusiastic member of the Association before ill health forced him to take a back seat and spend his later days near his relatives on the Wirral. Geoff also held that privileged title of Squadron Commander between 1966 – 67 while at Colerne flying Hastings.

3rd Jan – A further update from his niece Mrs Richardson via Richard Bates:-

His funeral service and cremation will be at 1.00 pm on Monday 16 Jan 12 in the Centre Chapel at Landican Crematorium, Arrowe Park Road, Woodchurch, Wirral, Mersyside CH49 5 LW and afterwards at the Riverhill Hotel, Oxton.

The family request family flowers only and donations, if desired, to the RAF Benevolent Fund, which was his favourite charity to:

Thomas McMullan Funeral Services
The Valley Lodge Funeral Home
Borough Road
Birkenhead
CH42 9JE

Mrs Richardson (274 Holmlands Drive, Prenton, Wirral, CH43 0UU) has asked if those planning to attend would kindly let her know to assist catering arrangements. (Tel 01516086229).

9 Responses to “Group Captain Geoff Moss – Update”

  1. Nev Cooper Says:

    A great 24 Sqn ‘Boss’….Flew with him many many times ‘down the route’.

    Sadly missed for sure.

    Can you pass on our condolences Dave?

    Rgds

    Nev & Terry COOPER (Rtd 24 Sqn/Colerne MAEO and wife)

  2. Bob Iredale Says:

    I remember Geoff Moss well; he was my sqn cdr when I moved over from 36sqn on its disbandment. He was a real gentleman with a good sense of humour. I was walking through the hangar one day and he said “you need a haircut” I said ” I am getting it cut before I go to Germany” he said ” I mean today” I replied ” I am going to Germany tomorrow” He had the good grace to laugh instead of whacking me round the head.

  3. Alan Batty Says:

    Geoff was also a great supporter of Army Air Despatchers, he was a fair firm and friendly leader who understood the Army well. Also a member of the Air Despatch Association. He will be missed by those who served with him. My sincere condolences Major (retired) Alan Robert Joseph Batty MBE, retired Air Despatcher, 22,47,55,and 69 (Air Despatch) Coy/Sqn’s

  4. thesicilianmars22ab Says:

    Geoffrey was a great friend to Army Air Despatchers, he was Detachment Commander at RAAF Butterworth. Also a member of the Air Despatch Association. He was fair firm and friendly and understood the Army well. Always respected by those who knew him well. My sincere condolences Major (retired) Alan Robert Joseph Batty MBE, veteran of 22,47,55,69 Coy/Sqn Air Despatch

  5. Ted Medler Says:

    ‘Boss’ Moss affectionately remembered by the Air Despatch Association especially those members who served in 55 Air Despatch Company RASC in Butterworth … and 47 Air Despatch Sqn at Colerne.
    A gentleman and a gentle man who knew the worth of every man serving with him.
    R.I.P. Boss ..

  6. Edward Gill Says:

    I knew Geoff Moss at RAF Wellesbourne Mountford in 1949 – he was a Flt.Lt. and I was an AC.1 doing my National Service. I was on the entertainment committee of which he was Chairman. He was greatly respected by us all. After a gap of 50 years I made contact with him again ten years ago. We had much to talk about. He will be greatly missed.

    Edward Gill

  7. Nev Cooper Says:

    Boss Humour.

    I was keeping a low profile in the 24 crew room at Colerne one windy and rainy afternoon playing ‘uckers’ with the rest of the crew (Not even Co Pilot circuits and ‘crashes’ authorised), when the adj walked in and said “Cooper, the Wing Co wants you in his office ‘pronto’…..and I suggest you straighten your tie, etc, etc, if I were you….I think you’re in BIG trouble”.

    I did get myself over the other side of the hangar pretty “pronto” (and yes, the squadron offices WERE either side of the hangar in those dark 1970’s days young Sir’s). I knocked sheepishly on his door, marched in, and saluted (of course). “F/Sgt” he said, “You have been reported to me by the adj as being severely incorrectly dressed for the past two days at least…..What have you got to say?” I muttered some excuse about needing my black “brothel creeper” shoes to have thick soles for extra insulation in these snowy Winter months. He growled “No, not that man. You should have Galloping Dogs and Gold Eagles on your cuffs…..Get it sorted by tomorrow…..and get out of my office”.

    As I had only done just on 15 years service at that time, I was a little taken aback to say the least, but managed another, almost American, style salute saying “Yes SIR” as I exited. The words “And do make sure your brothel creepers have toe caps from now on Mr Cooper” echoing behind me as I closed the door.

    What a Boss to have hey?

    Few and far between for sure.

  8. Paul Thompson Says:

    R.I.P great uncle Geoff, i cannot even attempt to put into words just how highly thought of you were and always will be, a true legend of a man and it makes me so proud to be a relation. xxx

    can i just ask if anybody has any photos of my uncle Geoff i would be very grateful if you could email them to me at p_tommo@hotmail.co.uk thanks in advance Paul Thompson

  9. Keith Beaton Says:

    My father Mst/Sgn Walter Beaton served with him @ Butterworth in the early to mid 60s & always spoke highly of him RIPmk

Leave a Reply

