Wing Commander H G Lee ex OC XXIV Squadron

The Association had a request in from Jim Fenton and reads as follows:

I am enquiring if any records exist of the above mentioned officer who commanded 24 Squadron in 1941. I have in my possession a pilots logbook for an officer (later Squadron Leader) H. Gibson Lee (an Australian)who attended No.1 IFTS at Point Cook, Victoria, from 10 January 1932 until 10 December 1932. His next posting was to Uxbridge Depot with the RAF in Britain. The logbook I have is Volume 1V of a RAF pilot’s logbook and also contains a photograph of Sqn Ldr Lee in full ceremonial uniform. This logbook was given to me some years ago by and old flying friend, since deceased, and who was an early flying colleague of Sqn Ldr Lee. It is indicated in the logbook that he served with 24 (c) Squadron Hendon from 13 January 1936 an he is listed on your website as Commanding Officer of the squadron in 1941.

I would like to try and trace any descendants of his and pass on this interesting record of what was apparently a remarkable flying career initially with the RAAF and later the RAF. His record of service from the logbook shows that he first flew with 1 squadron, Laverton CAF from March 30, 1930 until December 1931. Any information you may be able to provide would be greatly appreciated.

If you can help, pop a comment below this post and we will contact Jim.

9 Responses to “Wing Commander H G Lee ex OC XXIV Squadron”

  1. sam wright Says:

    Dear Jim,
    write to OC 24 Sqn. and ask him to pass your request to the Sqn History officer(Major Shugart. USAF Exchange Officer) who I am sure will look into the books and provide the information you want.
    If you have any problems please come back to me.
    regards
    sam wright

  2. Jim Fenton Says:

    Hi Sam,

    Many thanks for your advice. I will contact the OC 24 Sqn as you suggest.

    Best regards,
    Jim

  3. Jim Fenton Says:

    Sam,

    Do you have an email or postal address where I can contact the OC 24 Sqn. I am not sure where they are based in Britain. I have obtained a class photo and some of H.G Lee’s flying records from when he was a cadet in 1 FTS during 1932 but have not yet found any details of his next of kin.

    Best wishes
    Jim

    • Simon Batchelor Says:

      Dear Jim,
      I am the unofficial historian for the 24 Squadron Association, and I would love to see HG Lees logbook.
      Would it be possible to scan it and send copies to me?
      I am trying to confirm the use of various aircraft and their serials, and logbooks are a fantastic source. Especially as the Operational records are not complete.
      Simon Batchelor

  4. Dick Gibson Lee Says:

    Hello! I am Harold Lees only son. I live in Kelowna BC Canada.
    At present I am spending winter in Yuma AZ USA. Will be home middle of April. Can contact then. I have photos, logbooks etc.
    Dick Gibson Lee

  5. Simon Batchelor Says:

    Hi Dick,
    I have been sending emails direct to you but have had no response. I hope you are well. I have been in contact with S/L Ian Mcleod’s son who also lives in Canada and we both would like to make contact.
    Simon Batchelor

    • Dick Lee Says:

      Please contact. Dick Lee.

      • Simon Batchelor Says:

        Hi Dick,
        I have sent a number of messages, but had no response, so I think my emails are not getting through, do you have a separate email when you are in Canada?
        please send a message to the 24 Sqn Association secretary for forwarding to me.
        Thanks Simon

      • Dick Lee Says:

        Hi! I received this E-Mail. Dick Lee.

Leave a Reply

